Thursday, October 3, 2013

Review - Home to Heather Creek Books

1. "Before the Dawn" by Kathleen Bauer.

The story starts with an elderly couple, Charlotte and her husband Bob.  After the death of their daughter, they are given custody of their 3 grandchildren to raise. One is a young boy and the other two are teenagers.   The family adjusts to living all together on a rural Nebraska Farm.   There is a lot of grief to deal with and routines to establish.  The children barely know their grandparents and don't feel settled.  Charlotte was very unsure of her parenting skills and found it difficult to make decisions.  Bob's more set-in-his-ways view of life helped bring more stability to the family. This was a modern story with normal trials.  Overall the story is an interesting read, but was a little hard to warm up to the characters.

2. "Sweet September" by Kathleen Bauer.

The story continues and the family is more settled.  Life has become more normal for the family.  We deal with more than just grief this time.   The family seems to have bonded and there is more action and excitement.  There are a few mysteries and fun things happening.  Charlotte seems to have gained more confidence in the parenting of her grandchildren.   We meet the same neighbors in the same community from the last book, and get to know them a little better.

The author, "Kathleen Bauer" is the pen name of the various authors who actually write each story.  The first book was written by Carolyne Aarsen.  The second book was written by Tricia Goyer.  This gives each story a more unique perspective, even though it is an ongoing series. These wholesome stories are gentle Christian entertainment.

*Disclosure - I received a copy of each book for review purposes.*

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...