Thursday, December 6, 2012

Managing God's Money by Randy Alcorn






 



Book - Managing God's Money

Author - Randy Alcorn

Publisher - Tyndale

Paperback,  272 pages

List Price - $5.99










There are very few financial books that are so valuable, one wants to buy extra copies to give away.  This is one of those books. Randy does a fantastic job describing the purpose of money, our duties, and the importance of realizing it all belongs to God. 

There are 22 chapters, divided into six sections. The sections are:

1. Money and Possessions: Bible 101

2. Perspectives that Impede Money Management

3. Our Stewardship in Eternity's Light

4.  Giving and Sharing God's Money and Possessions

5.  Wisely Handling God's Money and Possessions

6.  Passing the Baton of Wise Stewardship


I will share a few quotes from the book:

p. 50  -  "If what you treasure most is deposited in the bank and the bank fails, your heart will fail with it."

p. 52  -  "Materialism obscures many of life's greatest blessings.  Ironically, those blessings are often far more appreciated by the poor, whose lives are less cluttered and distracted by  material wealth."


Managing God's Money: A Biblical Guide  has detailed explanations, wise and convicting advice, and will help teach and train the reader how to be successful with their finances.   I would consider this a sort of encyclopedia of financial training. It should be in every Christian home and given to every newly married couple.  If mistakes have been made, this book will educate us to turn it all around and start handling money God's way. This is when the true blessings will come.





*Disclosure - I received this book for review purposes.*

To find out more about my commercial breaks, please see my disclosure page.






Debt - Proof Your Christmas by Mary Hunt






 




Book - Debt - Proof Your Christmas - Celebrating the Holidays without Breaking the Bank

Author - Mary Hunt

Publisher - Revell

Paperback, 240 pages










In this difficult economy, it is wonderful to see a book focused on avoiding financial catastrophe at Christmas time.   Mary Hunt, a well-known Christian financial expert, helps us avoid the traps of consumer spending.  She knows the emotion and desperation of how much we want to buy presents, and lots of them, for our loved ones.    Somehow, she guides us away from this kind of destructive thinking. She makes us look at what overabundance does to our families and to our financial stability.

The book contains 18 chapters, covering topics about our shopping attitude, finding cash, giving gifts that cost little or nothing, traditions, and so much more.

At the end of each chapter, there is a sweet letter from a reader.  These are memories or ideas from their own homes of pleasant Christmas gifts or traditions that don't cost much money.

Some helpful quotes from the book:

p. 31 -   "Debt is the result of reacting impulsively."

p. 40  -  She encourages savings by talking about the old fashioned Christmas club accounts.  "As little as ten dollars a week would result in a check for five hundred dollars."


Debt - Proof Your Christmas is a tremendous tool for planning a peaceful, stress -free Christmas. It is a book you will pull out year after year, to keep you on track.



*Disclosure - I received this book for review purposes.*

To find out more about my commercial breaks, please see my disclosure page.





Monday, November 12, 2012

The Christmas Pony by Melody Carlson

 


Book - The Christmas Pony

Author - Melody Carlson

Publisher - Revell

Hardcover, 170 pages








This is a charming story, set during the difficult time of the 1930's. Money was very hard to come by.  The story is centered around young Lucy.  She lives in a boarding house, which is run by her mother and grandmother.

The family needs boarders to fill the three upstairs rooms. Lucy prays for this, and also prays for a pony one of the neighbors is selling. Her mother cannot afford to buy such a gift, but Lucy still longs for it. There is also some sadness in the house.  Lucy wants to see her Mother smile again.

The boarders that come to the house are great characters and keep things exciting in the small town.  I also love the daily chores, and the description of daily life - preparing meals, and maintaining the house. It was calming and pleasant to read.

Overall this is a sweet Christmas story that would be enjoyed by young girls and their mothers.




*Disclosure - I received this book for review purposes.*

To find out more about my commercial breaks, please see my disclosure page.




Friday, November 2, 2012

The Sparkle Box - Christmas Giveaway

Book - The Sparkle Box, 32 pages

Author - Jill Hardie

Illustrator - Christine Kornacki

Publisher - Ideals Children's books (A Guidepost Company)

Ages 4 - 8









This is a large hardcover book with beautiful paintings of family life.  Follow Sam and his parents as they get ready for Christmas.  There is a sparkle box on the mantle in the living room. Sam wonders about it.  As the days lead up to Christmas, the family donates to the less fortunate. Each of these sacrificial deeds is written on a piece of paper and placed in the sparkle box.  These are the Christmas gifts for Jesus.  The sparkle is a symbol of the light of the world.

This sweet story will delight children and encourage them to want their own sparkle box, which comes with the book!  This may very well help start an amazing tradition in many homes!

The Giveaway

How would you like a chance to win your very own copy of The Sparkle Box?  I have one available for a giveaway.



This contest is closed. The winner is -
Noelle the dreamer


*Disclosure -   This book was provided to me for review purposes. The giveaway copy will be shipped to the winner directly from the agency. *

To find out more about my commercial breaks, please see my disclosure page.

Tuesday, October 30, 2012

The Barber Who Wanted to Pray by R.C. Sproul



Book - The Barber Who Wanted to Pray

Author - R. C. Sproul

Publisher - Crossway

Hardcover, 30 pages.

Ages - 8 and up






The book contains gorgeous, inspiring paintings by T. Lively Fluharty.  These bring the story alive and make it delightful!

The very first page is of a father sitting at the kitchen table, with his six children, praying together and reading the Bible.  It is precious!

One of the sweet children asks her father to help her learn to pray.

He explains by telling the children a story that was passed down by his grandfather.   It is about a Barber, whose customer is a wanted man - an outlaw. This man is Martin Luther, the Reformer.   We learn some amazing things about the Christian faith and about deep and abiding prayers.

On the last page of the book, you will find, "The Ten Commandments,"  "The Lord's Prayer,"  and "The Apostles' Creed."

This is an inspiring book and would be a great blessing as a bedtime story for children.




*Disclosure - I received this book for review purposes.*

To find out more about my commercial breaks, please see my disclosure page.






Friday, October 5, 2012

Maxed Out - How Debt is Destroying Us



Movie (DVD) - Maxed Out  ("Nothing is Priceless")

Unrated, 87 minutes, 2006



One of the greatest tools I have used to help my children understand the danger of debt and the credit card industry is the movie/ documentary, "Maxed Out." 

For years I have told my grown children to avoid borrowing money for the purpose of consumer debt.  I have explained the lies, the scams, and the emotional games the marketers play to make us think we "deserve" the credit, or that we are being "helped" with a loan. 

I've been in line at department stores with my children and they've watched me turn down offers to apply for a store credit card just so I can "get 20% off today's purchases."  I tell them, it is a technique they use to bait me, and then to destroy me.   It is not worth the supposed "perks."  It is a trap.

When "Maxed Out," came out on DVD, I eagerly watched this with my husband.  We both cried as we watched story after story unfold before our eyes.  We watched the despair and desperation of families and individuals who were destroyed and enslaved by debt.  We also saw politicians speaking, we learned about some well-known important people and who they really worked for.  Statistics, quotes, and eye-opening, chilling information is shared to wake up viewers. 

Most of my older children have watched this movie.  It has alarmed them and shocked them, for their own good.  It has helped ground them, and made their anti-credit stance much stronger.

I recommend this documentary for ages teen to adult.  I would also suggest families watch it once a year, as a reminder and a tool to protect them from the ravages of consumer marketing, which we are all exposed to on a daily basis.


*Disclosure - This is a public message brought to you by this blog. It is not sponsored by any company.*








Wednesday, September 5, 2012

Winner of Laundry Kit

I have greatly enjoyed using my new "All" laundry detergent (mighty pacs).  I also love the other items that came in the kit:  the laundry bag, beach ball and beach towel.

I am delighted to announce the winner of the giveaway for the same laundry kit.

It is Noelle the dreamer.

I am so happy for her! She has already been contacted and will receive her prize shortly.

Thank you all for entering!

Wednesday, August 29, 2012

All Mighty Pacs Laundry Kit - Giveaway



All Laundry Detergent is now available in a convenient, pre-measured "pac" to save you time and money.

"Mighty Pacs" are offered in "original" and "free clear."  Each bag contains 24 "pacs" to handle 24 loads of laundry.

Each "pac" holds the liquid laundry detergent. You don't need to open this. You just toss the small bag into your machine, then add your laundry.  The "pacs" dissolve completely and get the clothes clean.

Giveaway

How would you like to try this product?  I have a great giveaway package to offer you.  One random winner will receive the following (as pictured above):

1.  24 - count package of Mighty Pacs original.
2.  24 - count package of Mighty Pacs free clear.
3.  One All beach ball.
4.  One beautiful, re-usable All Laundry bag.
5.  One full size All beach towel.



(This contest is now closed. The winner is: Noelle the dreamer.)





*Disclosure - "The information, products and additional all mighty pacs gift pack was provided by all® through MyBlogSpark.” *

To find out more about my commercial breaks, please see my disclosure page.



Monday, August 20, 2012

Welcome

After blogging for more than 3 years at The Legacy of Home, I realized that combining reviews with regular posts was getting to be very difficult for me.

My solution was to create a new blog just for reviews and commercial-type posts.   There is less pressure when there are separate blogs.   I think this will work much better for me.


Thank you for your support!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...